BRONSOLINI- THE MANY NAMES OF ACTION BRONSON

Image

For a long time I have sought a rapper with the talent and contrast to interest me.  With the rise of OFWGKTA and the ‘selling out’ of Snoop Dogg I have felt neglected by the hip-hop community.  The contrived nature of artists such as Tyler the Creator and his motley crew leave me with Mos Def or looking back upon the past.  With Watch the Throne providing me with average entertainment over last summer the discovery of this man restored my faith in the tumultuous world of hip-hip.  Enter Action Bronson.  Image

The Albanian culinary king originating from Queens, New York gave me a sense of nostalgia when I first encountered his romantically unstable Brunch (link given below).  He has gained notoriety for stylistically resembling Ghostface Killah whilst masterfully responding with,

“Yeah, I mean at the end of the day, it’s all good because Ghostface Killah is one of the best rappers alive, so if I sound similar to the best rapper alive then that is fine. To me there is no comparison; he is a legend and I am a newcomer. If I would try and emulate with anyone it would be Kool G Rap, he is the person I look up to the most. I am not upset but at the end of the day I am my own person and no one can take that away from me.” 

However,

“don’t ever say my fucking music sounds like Ghost’s shit.”

Image

His 3 studio albums are well received and I highly remember checking them out.  He even has a cooking channel and is a guru of the culinary arts.  His food references are never ending and form his style, something I admire and adds to his originality.  Tracks such as Ron Simmons and the mellower Love Letter are two highlights for me using beats taking you there to Brooklyn.  His albums resemble a New York mixtape full of retro sounds and beats taking you back to pre-Bad Boy Records.  He says that he doubts we could relate to his culinary preferences — and you’re going to have to trust me on this — you might find yourself with a new penchant for some bucatini tossed with razor clams.

Image

 Bronson ‘twisting joints like a contortionist’ TURKEY BAGS

Leave a Reply

